Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
EDB task force to review teaching and learning materials

     The Education Bureau announced today (June 3) the setting up of a task force to review and examine the issues arising from the policy of debundling textbooks and teaching/learning materials for pricing.

     The task force will examine in particular the operation of the Recommended Textbook List as well as other measures concerning the supply of teaching and learning materials with a view to ensuring the provision of quality and value-for-money materials. The task force will submit its report to the Secretary for Education by December this year.

     Chaired by the Under Secretary for Education, Mr Kenneth Chen, the task force has 11 members comprising principals, teachers, parents and a representative of the Consumer Council, as well as academics and businessmen with professional knowledge in education and market operation. Members are appointed on ad personam basis.

     The membership list of the task force is as follows:

The Under Secretary for Education, Mr Kenneth Chen

Non-official members
Professor Chung Yue-ping (former Dean of the Faculty of Education; Professor of the Department of Educational Administration and Policy of the Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Professor Francis Lui (Head of the Department of Economics of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Mr Gerry Ma (Managing Director of Enfasis Asia Limited; Curriculum Development Council Member)

Mr Leo Kung (Senior Executive Vice President of Bangkok Bank; Member of the Board of Directors of Hong Kong Education City)

Ms Connie Lau (Chief Executive of Consumer Council)

Mr Jao Ming (Chairman of the Federation of Parent-Teacher Association of Hong Kong Eastern District)

Ms Lucia Leung (President of the Joint Council of Parent-Teacher Associations of the Sha Tin District)

Ms Enian Tsang (Head of Pooi To Middle School)

Ms Mok Fung-yee (Head of Chan's Creative School)

Ms Yan Kit-ying (General Studies Panel Head of St Bonaventure Catholic Primary School)

Mr Wan Ho-yin (Deputy Head of the MCHK Wesley College)

Ex-officio member
Permanent Secretary for Education (or representative)

Ends/Friday, June 3, 2011
Issued at HKT 14:31


Print this page