Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
46th meeting of Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation

The following is issued on behalf of the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation:

     The 46th Meeting of the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC), which will be held next Wednesday (June 8), is now open for public enrolment.

     The Chairman of the HKCPEC, Professor Sung Yun-wing, will chair the meeting. Major items for discussion include the Youth Outreach Programme 2011/12; updates on the 20th General Meeting and Standing Committee Meeting of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC) to be held in Washington DC, USA in September 2011; HKCPEC's participation in the Pacific Economic Outlook Structure Specialists' Meeting held in Osaka, Japan in September 2010; the PECC State of the Region Survey conducted in September and October 2010; reports on the outcomes of the 19th General Meeting and Standing Committee Meeting of the PECC held in Tokyo, Japan in October 2010, and the "Services Trade: New Approaches for the 21st Century" conference jointly organised by PECC and Asian Development Bank Institute to be held in Hong Kong in early June 2011.

     The meeting will be held at 3pm in Room 1814, 18/F, Trade and Industry Department Tower, 700 Nathan Road, Mong Kok, Kowloon.

     Members of the public are welcome to attend the open session of the meeting. In view of limited seating capacity at the meeting venue, admission will be on a first-come, first-served basis.

     Those interested in attending the meeting are requested to enrol with the HKCPEC secretariat by noon, June 2.

     For enquiries, please contact the HKCPEC Secretariat at 2398 5449 or 2398 5594.

     The HKCPEC was established in March 1990 to co-ordinate Hong Kong's participation in the PECC. In line with the nature of the PECC, the composition of the HKCPEC is tripartite, comprising members from the Government, academia and the business sector.

     The PECC is a non-governmental organisation set up in 1980 to develop closer co-operation on trade and economic issues among economies in the region.

     Currently, the PECC has a total of 26 member committees, of which 23 are full members representing the economies of Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; China; Colombia; Ecuador; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; Mongolia; New Zealand; the Pacific Islands Forum; Peru; the Philippines; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; the United States of America; and Vietnam. The PECC also has one associate member, France (Pacific Territories), and two institutional members, the Pacific Trade and Development Conference and Pacific Basin Economic Council.

Ends/Tuesday, May 31, 2011
Issued at HKT 12:30


Print this page