Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment of members of Equal Opportunities Commission

     The Government announced today (May 19) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed 12 incumbent members and appointed four new members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for two years, with effect from May 20, 2011.

The re-appointed members are:

Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun
Ms Maggie Chan Man-ki
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Ms Choi Hing-shi
Mr Frederick Fung Kin-kee
Mr Lee Luen-fai
Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung
Mr Amirali Bakirali Nasir
Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Mr Paul Tse Wai-chun
Dr John Tse Wing-ling
Ms Garling Wong Ka-ling

The newly appointed members are:

Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Mr Zaman Minhas Qamar
Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man
Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong

     Brief background information on each is at the Annex.

     "We are grateful for the useful input of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting the promotion of equal opportunities.  They have also made valuable contribution to the various areas of work of the EOC," a government spokesman said.

     "The new membership of the EOC represents a fairly balanced mix of expertise and representatives of various sectors, including the interests of women, persons with disability and ethnic minorities, employment, social services sector, legal professionals, accounting professionals, academics and education, and the community at large."

     "We look forward to the concerted efforts of all the re-appointed and new members, under the leadership of the Chairperson, Mr Lam Woon-kwong, to take forward the work to promote equal opportunities and eliminate discrimination on the grounds of sex, race, disability and family status," the spokesman added.

     The appointment notice will be gazetted on May 20, 2011.

Ends/Thursday, May 19, 2011
Issued at HKT 12:39


Print this page