Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment of ACAN chairman and members

     The Government announced in the gazette today (December 24) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei as Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN) and appointed six new members to the committee.

     Ten members of the committee have also been re-appointed.

     Professor Shek and other members' terms of appointment will last for two years from January 1, 2011 to the end of 2012.

     The newly appointed members are Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho, Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi, Mr Kwok Wing-keung, Ms Christina Maisenne Lee and Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee and Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung.

     The Commissioner for Narcotics, Ms Sally Wong, expressed appreciation and gratitude to the outgoing members for their invaluable contribution. They are Mr Fred Li Wah-ming, Mr Jacob Chan Lai-sang, Mr Christopher Chan Yiu-chong, Dr Susan Fan Yun-sun, Mrs Justina Leung Ngai Mou-yin and Professor Tsui Ming-sum.

     Ms Wong said, "On behalf of the Government, I would like to thank the six outgoing members for their dedication and support for the anti-drug cause and their active participation in various anti-drug activities. They have given us valuable advice on anti-drug strategies and initiatives."

     "The new members come from different backgrounds, including information technology, education, social work, law and business. I am confident that with their rich experience and professional knowledge in different fields, they will inject new ideas and momentum to the anti-drug work," she said.

     A brief profile of the six new members is as follows:

Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho
Member of the Legislative Council (Information Technology Constituency)

Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi
Member of Sai Kung District Fight Crime Committee
Member of Tseung Kwan O South Area Committee

Mr Kwok Wing-keung
Principal of Carmel Holy Word Secondary School
Chairman of Tai Po District Fight Crime Committee

Ms Christina Maisenne Lee
Resources and Corporate Planning Department Manager of Wofoo Plastics Limited

Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Past President of the Hong Kong Federation of Women Lawyers
Member of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce

Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung
Head of Community Services Division of Tung Wah Group of Hospitals

     ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The full membership list (2011-2012) is as follows -

Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei (Chairman)
Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho
Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi
Dr Cheng Chi-man
Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung
Dr Hui Pak-kwan
Mr Kwok Wing-keung
Ms Christina Maisenne Lee
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Dr Miro Ng Fei-yeung
Ms Sylvia Siu Wing-yee
Ms Ann So Lai-chun
Ms Amy Blanche Tang Oi-lam
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Ms Sylvia Yau Siu-fee
Mr Yeung Yiu-chung
Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung
Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore
Secretary for Education or his representative
Commissioner of Police or his representative
Director of Health or his representative
Director of Social Welfare or his representative
Commissioner for Narcotics

Ends/Friday, December 24, 2010
Issued at HKT 09:58


Print this page