Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Chief Executive opens Hong Kong National Geopark (with photos)

     The Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang, officiated this afternoon (November 3) at the opening ceremony of the Hong Kong National Geopark.

     Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Tsang said, "Hong Kong has rich geological resources of high academic research, tourism and scenic value. I am glad that the Ministry of Land and Resources has granted us national geopark status."

     Hong Kong Geopark, which covers about 5,000 hectares, is made up of eight geo-areas distributed across the Northeast New Territories Sedimentary Rock Region and Sai Kung Volcanic Rock Region.

     By joining the national geopark network, Hong Kong can gain and exchange experience on preservation of valuable geological and topographical resources, promote public awareness of earth science and foster the development of eco-tourism.

     To celebrate the opening of the geopark and to raise public understanding and awareness of geo-conservation, the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) will organise a series of educational activities, including guided tours on Sundays and public holidays from November to next March and "rock classroom" activities for primary and secondary students at Lions Nature Education Centre in Tsiu Hang, Sai Kung.

     The AFCD has also launched a new dedicated website,, which provides the public with the latest news, information about geography and rocks, safety codes for visiting the geopark, and other information.

     Other officiating guests included the Vice-Minister of the Ministry of Land and Resources (MLR), Mr Wang Min; Director-General of the MLR's Department of Geological Environment, Mr Guan Fengjun; member of the International Expert Group for Global Geoparks Network, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), Professor Ibrahim Komoo; member of the honorary committee of Global Geoparks Network, UNESCO, Dr Wolfgang Eder; Secretary for the Environment, Mr Edward Yau; Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation, Mr Alan Wong; Chairman of the Hong Kong Tourism Board, Mr James Tien; Chairman of the Country and Marine Parks Board, Professor Nora Tam; and Convenor of the Task Force of Hong Kong Geopark, Professor Jim Chi-yung.

Ends/Tuesday, November 3, 2009
Issued at HKT 16:33


Photo Photo Photo
Print this page