Appointments to Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee

     The Government announced today (August 28) the appointment of a new member and the re-appointment of nine incumbent members to the Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee for a term of two years with effect from September 1.

     The new member is the Deputy Director of the Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui Welfare Council, Mr Joseph Man Hung-yee.  He is an experienced social worker and is also a member of the HKSAR Government's Working Group on Social Work in support of the reconstruction work in Sichuan.

     Nine incumbent members, including Dr Chan Wah-fat, Mr Chan Wai-to, Mr Chan Wing-lim, Mrs Joanna Li Lau Lai-hing, Mr Pau Shiu-hung, Ms Anna Tang King-yung, Dr John Yeung Hin-chung, Mr Yeung Yuet-bor and Ms Constance Yue Mui-ying, have been re-appointed.  

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, said he looked forward to membersíŽ contribution to the Committee.  He said, "The members come from a wide range of professions.  Their expertise and experience will be conducive to the work of the Committee."  He also thanked the out-going member, Mr Jovy Suen Leung-kwong, for his valuable contribution to the Committee in the past six years.

     The Committee, chaired by the Director of Social Welfare, is to examine applications from welfare agencies for allocations from the Lotteries Fund and to advise on charitable fund-raising issues including the allocation of flag days.

     Following is the list of non-official members of the Committee as from September 1, 2009:

Dr Chan Wah-fat
Mr Chan Wai-to
Mr Chan Wing-lim
Mrs Joanna Li Lau Lai-hing
Mr Joseph Man Hung-yee
Mr Pau Shiu-hung
Ms Anna Tang King-yung
Dr John Yeung Hin-chung
Mr Yeung Yuet-bor
Ms Constance Yue Mui-ying

Ends/Friday, August 28, 2009
Issued at HKT 10:45