Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Committee on Home-School Co-operation

     The Education Bureau today (August 21) announced the re-appointment of Professor Wong Po-choi as Chairman of the Committee on Home-School Co-operation (CHSC).  

     The bureau also announced the appointment of 18 members to the CHSC.  New members are Ms He Shi-lian, Dr Poon Bo-chiu, Dr Regina Ching, Dr Lilian Wong Hiu-lei, Dr Alice Lee and Dr Gordon Tsui.

     The CHSC comprises members from different walks of life, including parents as well as professionals in education, public health, medical sectors, business and information technology.  The chairman and members are all appointed for two years, from September 1, 2009, to August 31, 2011.   

     The Permanent Secretary for Education, Mr Raymond Wong said, "I believe that with Professor Wong's profound knowledge and enthusiasm in education as well as the concerted efforts of its members, the CHSC will continue with its achievements in strengthening home-school co-operation and promoting parent education."

     Established in 1993 as an advisory body, the CHSC's main roles include promoting home-school co-operation and advising the Education Bureau, other government departments and non-government organisations on ways to promote parent involvement in education.

     The CHSC is also tasked to encourage the setting up of parent-teacher associations (PTAs) and Federations of PTAs (FPTAs). To date, more than 90% of government and aided schools have set up their PTAs and 17 districts have set up their FPTAs.  

     The full membership list of the CHSC of the new term is as follows:

Name                              Capacity
----                              --------


Professor Wong Po-choi          Parent -
                                Secondary School


Ms He Shi-lian*                 Parent -

Mr Stephen Yiu Man-hoi          Parent -
                                Primary School

Dr Poon Bo-chiu*                Parent -
                                Secondary School

Ms Law Wing-kau                 Parent -
                                Secondary School

Mrs Cheung Wu Pui-lau            Parent -
                                Special School

Ms Kwok Chor-kiu                Educator -

Mr Leung Cheung-choi            Educator -
                                Primary School

Ms Emily Mok Fung-yee           Educator -
                                Primary School

Ms Constance Au Yuet-ching      Educator -
                                Secondary School

Mr Yan Chi-hung                 Educator -
                                Secondary School

Mrs Evonne Ching Wan Yuet-yu    Educator -
                                Special School

Professor Paul Yip Siu-fai      Professional -
                                Public Health

Dr Regina Ching *               Professional -
                                Health Promotion

Dr Lilian Wong Hiu-lei*         Professional -

Dr Man Ying-ling                Professional -
                                Language Education

Dr Alice Lee*                   Professional -

Dr Gordon Tsui*                 Professional -

Mr Chiu Pit-leung               Professional -

* Newly appointed members  

Ends/Friday, August 21, 2009
Issued at HKT 16:01


Print this page