Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment to Council of Open University of Hong Kong

     The Government announced today (June 12) that the Chief Executive (CE) had appointed Mr Eddy Fong Ching as the Chairman of the Council of the Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) for a term of three years starting from June 20, 2009.  The CE also appointed Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam as the Treasurer of the OUHK Council, a position now held by Mr Eddy Fong, for the same period.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Michael Suen, welcomed the appointment of Mr Eddy Fong and Mr Michael Wong, noting that they had both been very committed to serving the community and had a solid track record of public service.
     "I am confident that the OUHK will go from strength to strength under the chairmanship of Mr Eddy Fong, who no doubt will enjoy the full support of other council members," Mr Suen said.   

     Mr Suen also paid warm tribute to Mr Charles Lee Yeh-kwong, the outgoing Chairman of the Council of the OUHK.

     "Mr Charles Lee has spearheaded numerous initiatives in furthering the development of the OUHK.  Under his distinguished leadership, the OUHK has made significant achievements in enhancing the quality of teaching, learning and research, and has in the process opened up more opportunities to higher education.

     "The achievements of the OUHK over the past years owe much to his outstanding leadership," Mr Suen said.

     The OUHK Council is the governing body of the university.  It consists of 28 members, including the Chairman and the Treasurer who are appointed by the CE.

Ends/Friday, June 12, 2009
Issued at HKT 16:10


Print this page