Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment of new chairman to Education Commission

     The Government today (April 21) announced that the Chief Executive had appointed Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi as Chairman of the Education Commission (EC) for a term of two years from May 1, 2009 to April 30, 2011.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Michael Suen, welcomed the appointment of Dr Cheng as the new chairman of the EC.  "Dr Cheng has strong commitment in education and had served as the Chairman of the former Board of Education and a member of the EC.  He had also served in the Court of the University of Hong Kong and the Council and Court of the Hong Kong Baptist University.

     "With his rich experience in educational affairs and public services, I am fully confident that Dr Cheng will provide able leadership to the commission and offer invaluable advice to the Government on further enhancing the quality of education in Hong Kong."

     Mr Suen also thanked the outgoing chairman of the EC, Dr Alice Lam.  "We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Dr Lam for her contribution to the EC.  The Government has benefited from her insightful counsel on different domains of education, particularly the preparation for the implementation of the New Academic Structure for Senior Secondary Education and Higher Education," he said.

     The full membership list of EC is as follows:

Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi

Ex-officio Members:
Permanent Secretary for Education, Mr Raymond Wong
Chairman, Advisory Committee on Teacher Education and Qualifications, Mr Cheung Pak-hong
Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Edmond Ko Inq-ming
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Mr Irving Koo Yee-yin
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Mr Pang Yiu-kai
Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Michael Tien Puk-sun
Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mrs Laura M Cha
Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen

Non-official Members:
Mrs Dorothy Chan Cheng Mei-chu
Mr Lester Garson Huang
Miss Gloria Leung Chi-kin
Mr Liu Ah-chuen  
Professor Leslie Lo Nai-kwai
Mrs Rita Mansukhani Au Hay-lun
Mr Tang Kwai-tai
Mr Tong Chung-fan
Mr Wong Kwan-yu
Professor Wong Po-choi

Ends/Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Issued at HKT 15:01


Print this page