Committee to promote new National Education Activity Series (with photos)

     The Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang and mainland guests officiated today (January 21) at the inaugural ceremony for the Organising Committee for the "Passing On the Torch" National Education Activity Series.

     The series marks a new era in the Education Bureau's efforts to enhance students and teachers' sense of national identity.

     Other officiating guests at the ceremony were: the Vice-Chairman of the Chinese Overseas Friendship Association, Ms Yau Lantian; Vice-Minister of Education, Mr Yuan Guiren; Deputy Director of the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council, Mr Zhou Bo; Deputy Director of the Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Mr Wang Zhimin; Vice-Governor of the People's Government of Guangdong Province, Mr Song Hai; Deputy Commander of the People's Liberation Army Hong Kong Garrison, Major General Wang Junli;  General Secretary of the All-China Youth Federation, Mr An Guiwu; Standing Committee member of the National People's Congress, Mrs Rita Fan; as well as Secretary for Education, Mr Michael Suen.

     Honorary patrons of the Organising Committee are the Director of the Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Mr Gao Siren, and the Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang. The honorary chairmen are Mrs Rita Fan and Mr Michael Suen. Under Secretary for Education, Mr Kenneth Chen, is the convenor of the Standing Committee whose membership comprises seven executive chairpersons as well as representatives from the Education Bureau and the Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in the HKSAR.

     At today's ceremony, Mr Suen presented appointment letters to the seven executive chairpersons.

     The launch of the "Passing On the Torch" National Education Activity Series marks a new era in the promotion of national education and demonstrates the Education Bureau's commitment to work closely with different social organisations to take forward the work in this area.

     A designated website is being constructed for the education activity series to provide a one-stop on-line platform with links to information relating to activities organised by the Education Bureau and other social organisations.

     The platform, expected to be launched on the Education Bureau's homepage in mid-2009, will serve as a useful channel of communications and professional exchanges for the school sector and other interested parties. It will also help consolidate the efforts of social organisations and facilitate effective promotion of national education in the community. Contents of the platform will be updated from time to time with more organisations joining in.

     The Government will allocate additional resources for the operation of the platform. Organisations interested in helping to promote national education will also continue to receive government subsidies to run exchange activities and programmes to enable more teachers and students to enhance their understanding of the Mainland and cultivate a sense of belonging to the country.

     The seven executive chairpersons of the Standing Committee are Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Chinese History and Culture Educational Foundation for Youth, Ms Annie Wu Suk Ching; President of the Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers, Mr Yeung Yiu Chung; Executive Director of New World Development Company Limited, Mr Adrian Cheng; Chairman of the Hong Kong Association of Youth Development, Mr Bunny Chan Chung Bun; First Adviser of the Hong Kong United Youth Association, Mr Andrew Yao Cho Fai; Chairman of the Hong Kong Youth Exchange Promotion United Association, Mr George Lung Chee Ming; and President of Wofoo Social Enterprises, Mr Joseph Lee.

Ends/Wednesday, January 21, 2009
Issued at HKT 17:39