Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Social Welfare Advisory Committee

     The Government today (November 7) announced the appointment of the chairman and two new members, as well as the re-appointment of nine incumbent members, to the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC) for a term of two years with effect from December 1.

     The new chairman is Professor Chan Yuk-shee, and the two new members are Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai and Mr Benedict Wong Chung-mat.  

     Professor Chan Yuk-shee is President of the Lingnan University of Hong Kong.  He is also Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Social Work Training and Manpower Planning, and Member of the Process Review Panel for the Securities and Futures Commission and the Public Service Commission.  

     Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai is Deputy Director (Administration and Resources) of the School of Professional and Continuing Education (SPACE) of the University of Hong Kong.  She had worked in the Government for more than 30 years and was Deputy Commissioner for Transport before joining SPACE.  She is a Member of the Lump Sum Grant Independent Review Committee.

     Mr Benedict Wong Chung-mat is a distinguished local business leader.  He is a Member of the Committee on Trust Fund for Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome and was the former Chairman of Yan Chai Hospital.

     Nine incumbent members, Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, Mr Fong King-sang, Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, Dr Benjamin Lai Sau-shun, Dr Lam Ching-choi, Dr Leung Wing-tai, Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, Mr Tung Chi-fat and Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the new chairman and members, as well as those re-appointed to the committee.  He looked forward to their contribution to welfare development in Hong Kong. Speaking of the new chairman, Mr Cheung said, ˇ§Professor Chan has profound understanding of the welfare sector and rich experience in community service. I am confident that he will be able to lead SWAC in providing valuable advice to the Government.ˇ¨  

     Mr Cheung also thanked the out-going chairman, Mr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai, for his outstanding leadership in leading SWAC in the past six years, and the other two out-going members, Dr Stephen Chow Chun-kay and Mr Kwan Chuk-fai for their contribution.

     The functions of the SWAC are to keep social welfare services under continuous review and to advise the Government on all matters of social welfare policy.

     Following is the membership list of the SWAC with effect from December 1, 2008:

Professor Chan Yuk-shee

Ex-officio Members:
Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun
Miss Maggie Chan Mei-kit
Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai
Dr Miranda Chung Chan Lai-foon
Mr Fong King-sang
Mr Herman Hui Chung-shin g
Dr Benjamin Lai Sau-shun
Dr Lam Ching-choi
Ms Lam Shuk-yee
Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung
Dr Leung Wing-tai
Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Mrs Agnes Mak Tang Pik-yee
Professor Tang Kwong-leung
Mrs Teresa Tsien Wong Bik-kwan
Mr Tung Chi-fat
Dr Jimmy Wong Chi-ho
Mr Benedict Wong Chung-mat
Mr Silva Yeung Tak-wah
Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah

Ends/Friday, November 7, 2008
Issued at HKT 10:00


Print this page