Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Digital 21 Strategy Advisory Committee members appointed

     The Government today (October 14) announced the appointment of 19 non-official members to the Digital 21 Strategy Advisory Committee.  The new term will end on September 30, 2010.

     The committee, chaired by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mrs Rita Lau, advises the Government on the goals and objectives, areas requiring further action, desired outcomes, and strategies and programmes facilitating the delivery of the desired outcomes under the Digital 21 Strategy, the blueprint for information and communications technology (ICT) development in Hong Kong.

     "The new committee comprises a good mix of talent from the industry, business community, academia and the social welfare sector," Mrs Lau said.

     "I am confident that the committee will continue to provide the Government with valuable advice and insights on how to advance ICT development in Hong Kong and strengthen our position as a leading digital city," she said.

     The new membership of the Digital 21 Strategy Advisory Committee is as follows:


Mrs Rita Lau, Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Non-official Members:

Professor David Cheung, Professor and Head of the Department of Computer Science, The University of Hong Kong

Mr John Chiu, Chairman, Hong Kong Wireless Technology Industry Association

Ms Christine Fang, Chief Executive, Hong Kong Council of Social Service

Dr Chih-lin I, Vice President and Group Director, Communications Technologies Group, Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited

Mr Herman Lam, General Manager, Microsoft Hong Kong Limited

Mr Sunny Lee, President, Hong Kong Computer Society

Ms Anna Lin, Chief Executive, GS1 Hong Kong

Mr Joe Locandro, Director, Group Information Technology, CLP Holdings Limited

Professor Helen Meng, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Engineering, Professor and Director, Human-Computer Communications Laboratory, Department of Systems Engineering & Engineering Management, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr Charles Mok, Chairman, Internet Society Hong Kong

Mr Daniel Ng, President, Hong Kong Information Technology Federation

Mr Edward Nicol, Director Information Management, Cathay Pacific Airways Limited

Dr Elizabeth Quat, Co-Founder and Immediate Past President, Internet Professional Association

Professor Vincent Shen, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Mr Eli Sinyak, Chief Technology & Services Officer, The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Dr Samson Tam, Member of Legislative Council (IT Functional Constituency)

Dr Winnie Tang, Chief Executive Officer, ESRI China (Hong Kong) Limited

Professor Wong Kam Fai, President, Hong Kong Information Technology Joint Council

Mr Peter Yeung, Managing Director, Hong Kong Operations, Jardine OneSolution (HK) Limited

Ex-Officio Members:

Mr Duncan Pescod, Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications & Technology)

Mr Eddy Chan, Commissioner for Innovation and Technology

Mrs Marion Lai, Director-General of Telecommunications

Mr Jeremy Godfrey, Government Chief Information Officer

Ends/Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Issued at HKT 11:00


Print this page