Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee

    The Government today (March 14) announced the appointment of four new members to the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee.  They are Ms Gabriella Wong Siu-ling, Prof Albert Lee, Ms Lui Oi-ling and Mr Kevin Lau Kin-wah. 

    In addition, Ms Sophia Kao Ching-chi and other five incumbent members - Mr Kwan Chuk-fai, Ms Betsy Lau Ka-shi, Dr Lam Ching-choi, Mr Tony Chow Ching-lam and Mr Stephen Ng Chi-wing are re-appointed to the committee as vice-chairperson and members respectively.  All appointments are for a period of three years beginning April 1.

    The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the new members as well as those re-appointed to the committee.  He said, I am pleased to see a good mix of committee members from different sectors.  This speaks for the cross-sectoral collaboration that the committee seeks to promote.

    Mr Cheung also thanked the four retiring members, Dr Thomas Chan Sze-tong, Dr Christopher Leung Man-kit, Mr Tso Kai-lok and Ms Jessie Yu Sau-chu, for their contribution to the work of the committee.  They will complete their term by the end of this month after six years of dedicated service.

    The $300 million fund was established in 2002 to encourage mutual concern and help among people, develop community support network and promote community participation.  The fund committee is tasked to allocate funding for community projects and advise the Government on the development of social capital.

    The following is some background information on the new members:

Ms Gabriella Wong Siu-ling

    Ms Wong is the Agency Director of the Hong Kong Children & Youth Services.  She has extensive experience in the welfare sector and has been serving on various Government advisory bodies including the Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee and the Committee on Financial Assistance for Family Members of Those Who Sacrifice Their Lives To Save Others. 

Prof Albert Lee

    Prof Lee is the Director of the Centre of Health Education and Health Promotion at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.  He is also a member of the Curriculum Development Council and the School Allocation Committee.

Ms Lui Oi-ling

    Ms Lui is the Headmistress of Heung Hoi Ching Kok Lin Association Buddhist Chan Shi Wan Primary School.

Mr Kevin Lau Kin-wah

    Mr Lau is the Vice-President of the Hong Kong Chamber of Small and Medium Business Ltd.  He is also the incumbent member of the Shum Shui Po District Area Committee and the Watch and Clock Industry Training Advisory Committee. 

    The following is the new membership list of the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee:

Mr Yeung Ka-sing

Ms Sophia Kao Ching-chi

Mr Chan Wai-ming
Ms Chau Chuen-heung
Mr Chia Kok-onn
Dr Alice Chong Ming-lin
Mr Tony Chow Ching-lam
Mr Kwan Chuk-fai
Mr Lai Chi-tong
Dr Lam Ching-choi
Ms Betsy Lau Ka-shi
Mr Kevin Lau Kin-wah
Prof Albert Lee
Prof Joe Leung Cho-bun
Ms Lui Oi-ling
Dr Stanley Ma Ching-hing
Mr Stephen Ng Chi-wing
Ms Gabriella Wong Siu-ling

Ends/Friday, March 14, 2008
Issued at HKT 09:16


Print this page