Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Education Commission announced

    The Government today (December 31) announced the appointment of three non-official members to the Education Commission.

     Newly appointed to the commission is Mr Tang Kwai-tai, the Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council and Principal of Queen Elizabeth School Old Students' Association Primary School. Two incumbent members, Professor Wong Po-choi and Mrs Rita Mansukhani Au Hay-lun, are re-appointed. The three members are appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from tomorrow (January 1, 2008).

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Michael Suen, said, "I am confident that the three members, with their rich experience in education, will be able to provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the commission."

     Mr Suen also thanked the outgoing member, Mr Tsoi Kai-chun, former Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council, for his valuable contribution to the work of the commission.  

     The full membership list of the commission is as follows:

Dr Alice Lam Lee Kiu-yue

Ex-officio Members:
Permanent Secretary for Education, Mr Raymond Wong (or his representative)
Chairman, Advisory Committee on Teacher Education and Qualifications, Professor Cheng Kai-ming
Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Edmond Ko Inq-ming
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Mr Irving Koo Yee-yin
Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Michael Tien Puk-sun
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Mr Pang Yiu-kai
Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mrs Laura M Cha
Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen

Non-official Members:
Mrs Dorothy Chan Cheng Mei-chu
Mr Lester Garson Huang
Miss Gloria Leung Chi-kin
Professor Leslie Lo Nai-kwai
Mrs Rita Mansukhani Au Hay-lun
Mr Tang Kwai-tai
Mr Tong Chung-fan
Mr Wong Kwan-yu
Professor Wong Po-choi
Ms Shirley Wong She-lai

Ends/Monday, December 31, 2007
Issued at HKT 14:57


Print this page