Press Release

 Email this articleGovernment Homepage

Appointments to the Task Force on Continuing Development and Employment-related Training for Youth


The government today (March 16) announced appointments to the Task Force on Continuing Development and Employment-related Training for Youth.

The task force, to be jointly chaired by Dr Philemon Choi and Permanent Secretary for Education and Manpower Mrs Fanny Law, has another 20 members and appointment is for two years.

"The Chief Executive Mr Tung Chee Hwa announced in the 2004 Policy Address that the government had accepted the recommendations of the Commission on Youth to set up an inter-disciplinary task force responsible for overseeing the implementation of various youth training and employment programmes," a spokesman for the Education and Manpower Bureau (EMB) said.

The task force comprises representatives from the social welfare and business sectors, training and retraining bodies, sports, education and academic sectors, young people as well as government representatives.

"The task force's mission is to co-ordinate various training and employment programmes targeted at non-engaged youth. It is hoped that through the participation of the various sectors and government departments, the effectiveness of such programmes can be enhanced and new ideas and strategies formulated to assist young people in their continuing development and employment," the spokesman said.

The task force will also be responsible for administering the $50 million Youth Sustainable Development and Engagement Fund announced in the Policy Address. The task force will directly identify suitable trial schemes for funding, to foster training, placement and employment opportunities for the non-engaged youth.

First meeting of the task force will be on March 25 when terms of reference will be discussed.

"The Youth Sustainable Development and Engagement Fund will operate for two years. The exact use of the fund and the related details of operational arrangement will also be discussed at the meeting," the spokesman said.

Making up the task force are:



Dr Philemon Choi Yuen-wan

Mrs Fanny Law (Permanent Secretary for Education and Manpower)



Representatives from Social Welfare Sector:

Ms Jane Tsuei

Mr Gary Tang

Ms Winnie Ying

Representatives from Business Sector:

Ms Louise Chan

Mr Chan Yun-kan

Mr Joseph Lee

Mr David Pong

Representatives from Training and Retraining Bodies:

Dr Lo Kin-ki

Mr Patrick Pang

Representative from Sports Sector:

Ms Ho Kim-fai

Representatives from Education and Academic Sector:

Mrs Amy Chan

Professor Tam Man-kwan

Professor Joseph Lau

Young People:

Mr Max Wong

Mr Chan Wai-lam

Government Representatives:

Representative from Home Affairs Bureau

Representative from Home Affairs Department

Representative from Labour Department

Representative from Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Representative from Social Welfare Department

Ends/Tuesday, March 16, 2004


Email this article