Press Release

 Email this articleGovernment Homepage

Term of Non-Permanent CFA Judges Extended


The following is issued on behalf of the Judiciary:-

The Chief Executive has accepted the recommendation of the Chief Justice to extend the term of office for one more period of three years of 13 non-permanent judges of the Court of Final Appeal, whose current term is going to expire in July to September 2003, consisting of eight Hong Kong judges and five judges from other common law jurisdictions.

Non-Permanent Hong Kong Judges:

Sir Derek Cons

Mr William James Silke

Mr Kutlu Tekin Fuad

Mr Philip Gerard Clough

Sir Noel Plunkett Power

Mr Gerald Paul Nazareth

Mr John Barry Mortimer

Mr Henry Denis Litton

Non-Permanent Judges from Other Common Law Jurisdictions:

The Hon Sir Anthony Mason

The Rt Hon the Lord Cooke of Thorndon

The Hon Sir Gerard Brennan

The Rt Hon Sir Thomas Eichelbaum

The Rt Hon the Lord Millett

The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance provides for a list of non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law jurisdictions. The term of appointment of such judges is three years. That term may be extended for one or more periods of three years by the Chief Executive acting in accordance with the recommendation of the Chief Justice.

End/Friday, July 25, 2003


Email this article