Skip to content

Radiological Protection Advisory Group

(Appointed by the Director of Health)

Enquiry: Radiation Health Unit, Department of Health,
Sai Wan Ho Health Centre, 28 Tai Hong Street,
Sai Wan Ho, Hong Kong.
Telephone: 3620 3743

  • Professor Peter YU Kwan-ngok (Chairman)
  • Professor Dora KWONG Lai-wan
  • Professor KHONG Pek-lan
  • Dr. Michael LEE Chi-hang
  • Dr. Sherry NG Chor-yi
  • Dr. NGAI Wai-tat
  • Professor Samuel YU Chung-toi
  • Dr. Vincent WU Wing-cheung
  • Professor CHU Ming-chung
  • Dr. Jenny LEE Hiu-ching
  • Senior Scientific Officer, Radiation Monitoring and Assessment
    Branch, Hong Kong Observatory
  • Senior Physicist in charge, Radiation Health Unit,
    Department of Health
  • Senior Physicist, Radiation Health Unit, Department of Health
Secretary: Ms. HO Yee-oi
(Tel: 3620 3743)
(Fax: 2834 1224)

Terms of Reference

The Radiological Protection Advisory Group is required to advise the Director of Health on health matters relating to the radiological consequences that might eventuate from radioactive releases from nuclear facilities. In particular the Group is required to advise on:-

  1. the development and subsequent review of 'Dose Models' designed for use in assessing the consequences for the public of any accidental radiation release to the environment;
  2. the dose limits that should apply to the Hong Kong population and in particular to individuals in certain critical groups;
  3. the criteria that should be used to interpret emergency environmental monitoring data;
and, without prejudice to any decision that may be taken by the Director of Health, during the intermediate and recovery phases, of any nuclear accident situation affecting Hong Kong to advise on:-
  1. the interpretation of environmental radiation monitoring data and their impact on the public;
  2. the countermeasures that should be adopted having regard to the widely applied principle that the risks should be reduced to a level which is as low as reasonably practicable.