Go to main content
Appointments to Process Review Panel for Financial Reporting Council
     The Government announced today (December 21) the appointment of Ms Edith Shih and the re-appointment of Mr Tse Kam-keung as members of the Process Review Panel (PRP) for the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) for a term of two years effective from January 1, 2018.

     In announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "The PRP helps enhance the transparency and accountability of the FRC. It also ensures that the FRC handles cases in a fair and consistent manner. We look forward to the contribution of Ms Shih and Mr Tse to the work of the Panel in enhancing our financial reporting and corporate governance regime."

     Mr Lau also expressed his gratitude to the outgoing member, Mr Vincent Kwan, for his valuable contribution and support rendered to the Panel.

     Established under the FRC Ordinance (Cap. 588), the FRC is an independent statutory body for investigating possible auditing and reporting irregularities, as well as to enquire into possible non-compliances with accounting requirements in relation to listed entities in Hong Kong. The PRP for the FRC is an independent and non-statutory body established in 2008.  It reviews the operational procedures of the FRC and determines whether the actions taken by the FRC in handling cases have followed its internal procedures and guidelines. It also submits regular reports to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury. The Chairman and members of the PRP for the FRC are appointed by the Financial Secretary under authority delegated by the Chief Executive.

     The membership list of the PRP for the FRC, with effect from January 1, 2018, is as follows:
Mr Anthony Chow Wing-kin
Members (in alphabetical order of surnames)
Ms Florence Chan Yuen-fan
Professor Low Chee-keong
Ms Edith Shih
Mr Tse Kam-keung
Ex-officio Member
Dr John Poon Cho-ming (in the capacity as the Chairman of the FRC)
Ends/Thursday, December 21, 2017
Issued at HKT 16:00
Today's Press Releases