Go to main content
Appointments to Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee
     The Government announced today (December 14) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi and re-appointed Dr Tik Chi-yuen as members of the Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee for a term of two years effective from January 1, 2017. Moreover, Dr Helena Wong Pik-wan and Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung have been nominated by the Legislative Council (LegCo) and appointed by the Chief Executive as members of the Committee. Their term of office in the Committee took effect from November 15, 2016, and is concurrent with their term of office in the current-term LegCo.

     "We would like to express our gratitude to the retired and retiring members, including Dr Priscilla Leung Mei-fun, Mr Cheung Kwok-che and Mr Leo Kung Lin-cheng, for their active participation in the Committee's work and outstanding contribution by virtue of their professional knowledge and experience," a Government spokesman said.

     The Disaster Relief Fund was established by a LegCo resolution on December 1, 1993, to provide a ready mechanism for Hong Kong to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The Committee is tasked to advise on disbursement from the Disaster Relief Fund and monitor the use of grants by the recipients.

     The membership list of the Committee with effect from January 1, 2017, is as follows:

Chief Secretary for Administration (ex-officio)

Mr Cheng Yiu-tong
Mr Ip Kwok-him
Dr Helena Wong Pik-wan
Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung
Dr Tik Chi-yuen
Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or representative (ex-officio)
Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (ex-officio)
Ends/Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases