Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission

     The Government announced today (June 10) that the Chief Executive has appointed Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC, as a member of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission.

     The Chief Executive has also re-appointed Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching, Mr Justice Andrew Cheung Kui-nung and Mr Christopher Cheng Wai-chee as members of the Commission.

     "The four members will serve for a two-year term, starting from July 1 this year, to June 30, 2018," a government spokesman said.

     Mr Paul Shieh Wing-tai, SC, serving member of the Commission, will retire from the Commission on June 30, 2016.

     "We wish to express our gratitude to Mr Shieh for his invaluable advice rendered to the Commission during his term of office," the spokesman said.

     The functions of the Commission are to advise or make recommendations to the Chief Executive regarding the filling of vacancies in judicial offices, representations from a judicial officer concerning conditions of service referred to it by the Chief Executive, and any matter affecting judicial officers which may be prescribed or which the Chief Executive may refer to it.

     Other members of the Commission are the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio Chairman), the Secretary for Justice (ex-officio member), Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun, Professor Joseph Sung Jao-yiu and Mrs Eleanor Ling Lee Ching-man.

Ends/Friday, June 10, 2016
Issued at HKT 15:00


Print this page