Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment of Non-official Members to ICAC-related committees

     The Government announced today (December 18) that the Chief Executive has approved various appointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), as well as the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC), all for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2016. Details are as follows:


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, in his capacity as the Chairman of the CPAC, as a member of the ACOC. The Chief Executive has also appointed Professor Timothy Tong Wai-cheung, in his capacity as the Chairman of the CACCR, as a member of the ACOC. Mr Evan Au Yang Chi-chun and Ms Eirene Yeung have been newly appointed to the ACOC as members.

     The ACOC advises the Commissioner of the ICAC (the Commissioner) on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review. The ACOC also draws to the Chief Executive's attention any special aspect of the work of the ICAC or any problem encountered by it.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Kwan Sau-ha, Mr Nicholas Robert Sallnow-Smith and Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun as members of the ORC.

     The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung as the Chairman of the CPAC. Professor Cindy Lam Lo-kuen and Ms Nancy Tsang Lan-see have also been re-appointed as members of the CPAC. Mr Chan Chun-ying and Mr Alan Yau Hoi-ngan have been newly appointed to the CPAC as members.

     The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption and advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.


     The Chief Executive has appointed Professor Timothy Tong Wai-cheung as the new Chairman of the CACCR. The Chief Executive has also re-appointed Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay as a member of the CACCR. Ms Bonnie Chan, Ms Quince Chong Wai-yan and Mr Tavier Lau Chi-kuen have been newly appointed to the CACCR as members.

     The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support in combating corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors the community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general.


     The Chief Executive has appointed Mr Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung as the new Chairman of the ICC. The Chief Executive has also re-appointed Dr Priscilla Leung Mei-fun and Miss Alice Mak Mei-kuen as members of the ICC. Mr Benjamin Cha Yiu-chung and Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen have been newly appointed to the ICC as members.

     The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews the ICAC procedures and practices which may lead to complaints and makes recommendations when necessary.

     The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of these committees, who will retire on December 31, 2015, for their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees.

     The non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are in the Annex.

Ends/Friday, December 18, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:02


Print this page