Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Government announces appointments to Consumer Council

     The Government today (December 28) announced the appointment of Professor Wong Yuk-shan as the Chairman of the Consumer Council for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2013.

     Professor Wong is the Vice-President for Administration and Business and Professor of Life Science of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

     "With his rich experience in administration, and his commitment to and enthusiasm in public services, we are confident that Professor Wong will provide strong leadership for the development of the Council and will deliver the statutory functions of the Council for protecting the interests of consumers," a government spokesman said.

     The Government today also announced the appointment of seven members to the Consumer Council for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2013.

     The newly appointed members are Ms Chan Shuk-fong, Dr Raymond Leung Siu-hong, Mr Keith Lie, Dr Karen Shum Hau-yan and Professor Wong Kam-fai.

     The re-appointed members are Mr Thomas Cheng Kin-hon and Mr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo.

     "We are delighted that the five new members and two incumbent members from various sectors have accepted the appointment. We are confident that their experience and expertise will be invaluable to the work of the Council in promoting consumer interests," the spokesman said.

     Mr William Chan Che-kwong, Dr Polly Cheung Suk-yee, Professor Ron Hui Shu-yuen, Mr Philip Leung Kwong-hon and Mr Michael Li Hon-shing will retire from the Council upon the expiry of their terms on December 31, 2012.

     "We would like to express our gratitude to them for their contributions to different aspects of the Council's work," the spokesman said.

     The appointment notice was published in the Gazette today.

Ends/Friday, December 28, 2012
Issued at HKT 11:00


Print this page