Press Release

 Email this article Government Homepage

Chief Executive Election result declared


    The Returning Officer for the Chief Executive Election, Madam Justice Chu Fun Ling, Carlye, today (June 16) declared that Mr Tsang Yam Kuen, Donald, had been elected uncontested in the election.

    "At the close of the 14-day nomination period at 5pm today, only one candidate, Mr Tsang Yam Kuen, Donald, has been validly nominated," Madam Justice Chu said.

    She went on to declare that Mr Tsang was returned and elected in the 2005 Chief Executive Election under Sections 23 and 28 of the Chief Executive Election Ordinance (Cap 569).

    Mr Tsang's nomination was subscribed by 674 Election Committee members.

    A notice on the election result will be published in the Gazette shortly.

    The Returning Officer has vetted six other nominations, including two new nominations handed in by Mr Yun Shat Man and Mr Yang Yuen Shan, Vincent, this afternoon, and ruled them as invalid in accordance with the law.

Ends/Thursday, June 16, 2005


Real Media®ć¦ˇ Real Media (Floor/Cantonese/Putonghua/English)
 Windows Media®ć¦ˇ Windows Media (Floor/Cantonese/Putonghua/English)


Email this article