Press Release
 
 

 Email this articleGovernment Homepage

Suspected Fraudulent Website: www.fortizbank.com

************************************************

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) has issued a public alert about a suspected fraudulent website with the domain name "www.fortizbank.com". The website is operated by an alleged "Fortiz Bank Asia HK", which claims to have offices in Hong Kong and London, and offers various banking and investment services. The suspected fraudulent website looks similar to the official website of Belgian Bank (formerly known as Fortis Bank Asia HK). The domain name of the suspected fraudulent website also resembles the official website address of Fortis Bank (Hong Kong Branch). Both Belgian Bank and Fortis Bank (Hong Kong Branch) have issued press releases today to clarify that they have no connection with the alleged "Fortiz Bank Asia HK" or the suspected fraudulent website.

The public should be aware that the alleged "Fortiz Bank Asia HK" is not authorised under the Banking Ordinance to carry on banking business or the business of taking deposits in Hong Kong, nor does it have approval to establish a local representative office.

The case has already been reported to the Hong Kong Police for investigation. Anyone who has dealings with the alleged "Fortiz Bank Asia HK", or has provided his or her personal information to the website, or has conducted any financial transactions through the website should contact any local Police Station or the Commercial Crime Bureau of the Hong Kong Police at 2860 5012.

For further enquiries, please contact:

Jasmin Fung, Manager (Press), at 2878 8246 or

Thomas Chan, Senior Manager (Press), at 2878 1480

Ends/Tuesday, June 1, 2004

NNNN


Email this article