Print

Functions & Procedures

Lodging of an appeal

Any person (hereinafter referred to as the appellant) may lodge an appeal by giving notice of appeal in writing to the clerk of the Board (hereinafter referred to as the clerk) if his case comes within one of the following sets of circumstances -

  1. He has validly objected to an assessment by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue (hereinafter referred to as the Commissioner), but the Commissioner has not agreed with the objection after consideration. He may lodge an appeal within one month after the transmission of the Commissioner's written determination. The notice of appeal must be accompanied by -
    1. a copy of the Commissioner's written determination; and
    2. a statement of the grounds of appeal.
  2. He has been assessed to additional tax under section 82A of the IRO. He may lodge an appeal within one month after the date of issue of the notice of assessment. The notice of appeal must be accompanied by -
    1. a copy of the notice of assessment;
    2. a statement of the grounds of appeal;
    3. a copy of the notice of intention to assess additional tax under section 82A(4), if any such notice was given by the Commissioner; and
    4. a copy of any written representations made under section 82A(4) by the appellant.

Formation of Hearing Panels by the Board

 

Composition and functions

A panel with at least three members, one of whom shall always be either the chairman or a deputy chairman (hereinafter referred to as presiding person), is formed to hear and determine a tax appeal.  Decision is made on the basis of a majority of votes, and if there is an equality of votes, the presiding person has a casting vote in addition to his original vote.

 

Notice of hearing

On receipt of a notice of appeal, the clerk shall fix a time for the hearing of the appeal and give 14 days' notice to the appellant and the Commissioner. At any time before the hearing of an appeal, the appellant may withdraw the appeal by notice in writing addressed to the clerk; or the appellant and the Commissioner may reach a settlement on the amount at which the appellant is liable to be assessed.  Where a settlement of an appeal is reached, the terms of the settlement shall be reduced in writing and signed by the appellant and the Commissioner.  The settlement shall be submitted to the Board for endorsement.

 

Provision of Documents and Information

It is in the interest of both parties to an appeal that the case is heard by a panel hearing of the Board in a timely manner. The presiding person may take into account, among others, the impact of late submissions of documents and information by appellants in delaying the process of panel hearings in the past. The presiding person is empowered to –

(a) give directions on the provision of documents and information for the hearing; and

(b) refuse to admit in evidence any document or information that is not provided in compliance with directions given under (a) above.

If the presiding person decides to exercise the power to refuse to admit in evidence any document or information provided by a party, the presiding person must, as soon as practicable after making the decision, by notice in writing given to the party—

(a) notify the party of the decision; and

(b) give reasons for the decision.

The party may, within 14 days after the date on which the notice is given to the party or within a longer period that the presiding person allows, apply to the presiding person for relief against the decision. The application for relief—

(a) does not suspend the decision;

(b) must be supported by evidence proving the statements made in the application; and

(c) may be determined without a hearing.

The presiding person will consider all circumstances and will, as soon as practicable after determining the application for relief, notify in writing the party of the determination and give reasons for the determination.

In practice, any such directions to be issued by the presiding person would generally relate to the timing and manner of which documents and information are to be provided by the parties to an appeal to the Board. Parties to the hearing will be given reasonable notice for complying with the directions.

 

Attendance

An appellant shall attend the meeting of the hearing panel at which the appeal is heard in person or by an authorised representative. Notwithstanding the above, the hearing panel may, if satisfied that an appellant will be or is outside Hong Kong on the date fixed for the hearing of the appeal and is unlikely to be in Hong Kong within such period thereafter as the panel considers reasonable, on the appellant's written application received by the clerk at least 7 days before the hearing date, proceed to hear the appeal in the absence of the appellant or his authorised representative. In such a case, the panel may consider the written submissions as the appellant may submit to the Board.

Please click here (PDF file) for hearing arrangements during increment weather.

All appeals shall be heard in camera. The onus of proving that the assessment appealed against is excessive or incorrect shall be on the appellant. He should therefore ensure that he has available at the hearing all witnesses he intends to call and all documents he intends to rely on in support of his appeal. Unless otherwise directed, the appellant should lodge all documents or information with the Board with a copy for the Commissioner before the scheduled hearing date, in compliance with the directions given by the presiding person.

An appellant may have to decide at the hearing on either only making an unsworn submission or alternatively giving evidence on oath in support of his appeal and make submission. The appellant will not be cross examined if the former option is adopted but will be cross examined by representative of the Commissioner should the latter option be chosen. If he gives no evidence, the Board may deal with the case by considering agreed facts (if any) and those documents, whose authenticity is not in dispute, as admissible documentary evidence. In deciding which of the two courses to adopt, the appellant should bear in mind that the onus of proving that the assessment appealed against is excessive or incorrect rests on him. The Board in general will not attach evidential weight on mere submission and will attach greater weight to evidence tested by the process of cross-examination. An appellant may also call other persons as witnesses in support of his appeal at the hearing and the usual practice is that the witness will give evidence on oath and be subject to cross-examination.

 

 

Privileges and Immunities

To ensure that the Board may perform its statutory duty of determining tax appeals impartially without fear or favour, the IRO provides that –

(a) the Chairman, a deputy chairman or any other member of the Board has, in performing such persons' duties as such, the same privileges and immunities as a judge of the Court of First Instance in civil proceedings in the High Court; and

(b) a party to a hearing before the Board, or any witness, counsel, solicitor or person representing a party appearing before the Board has the same privileges and immunities as that person would have in civil proceedings in the Court of First Instance of the High Court.

 

Delivery of Board of Review Decisions

After hearing an appeal, the Board shall deliver the decision of the Board which is normally in written form. The Board shall confirm, reduce, increase or annul the assessment appealed against or may remit the case to the Commissioner for re-assessment. Where the Board does not reduce or annul such assessment, the Board may order the appellant to pay as costs of the Board a sum not exceeding $25,000 which shall be added to the tax charged. Such order is in the discretion of the Board. It is a material consideration in the exercise of such a discretion by the Board to ask if the appeal has been conducted frivolously, vexatiously or an abuse of process.

 

Appeal to the Decision of the Board

An appellant or the Commissioner may make an application to the Court of First Instance of the High Court direct for leave to appeal against the Board’s decision on a ground involving only a question of law. Such application for leave must be:

(a) made by a summons supported by a statement setting out the grounds of the appeal, identifying and stating precisely the question of law involved in each ground;

(b) annexed to it a copy of the decision of the Board against which leave to appeal is sought;

(c) as concise as is practicable, and avoid repeating matters already set out in the decision of the Board;

(d) signed by counsel and solicitors if it has been prepared by them, or by the applicant himself if he has not engaged legal representative; and

(e) lodged with a Registrar of the High Court and served on the other party (i.e. the appellant or the Commissioner as the case may be) within 1 month after the date on which the Board’s decision is made or (if the Board’s decision is notified to the appellant or the Commissioner by notice in writing) the date of communication by which the Board’s decision is notified.

Please refer to the Practice Direction 34 issued by the Judiciary (http://legalref.judiciary.gov.hk/doc/npd/eng/PD34.htm) for detailed arrangement about the application for leave to appeal. For enquiries, please contact the Clerk to the High Court Office (Civil Matters) (Telephone: 2825 4672).

Case stated applications received by the Board before 1 April 2016 will be handled in accordance with the former arrangement. An application that has been made in writing and delivered to the Board before 1 April 2016 will continue to be processed in a manner as if the relevant parts of IRO concerning the abolition of case-stated procedure had not been enacted.

 

Submission of Electronic Information

Please see the format, manner and procedure (PDF file) for the submission of electronic information under law by virtue of the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553).

 

(Note: The above information is for general reference by members of the public. The conduct of hearing and disposal of appeals by the Board are governed by sections 65 to 69A and 82B of the IRO.)

 

GovHK Responsive Design Launched Inland Revenue Department
This is a HTML 4.0 Strict website This website complies with the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) of W3C - AA Level Conformance listed  in 'Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0'

列印

職責及程序

提出上訴

任何人士﹙以下簡稱上訴人﹚可在符合下列任何一種情況下,以書面形式向委員會書記﹙以下簡稱書記﹚發出上訴通知,提出上訴:

  1. 他已對任何評稅作出有效的反對,但稅務局局長﹙以下簡稱局長﹚在考慮該項反對時沒有與他達成協議,則他可在局長的書面決定送交其本人後的一個月內提出上訴;該上訴通知必須附有以下資料:
    1. 局長的決定書副本一份;及
    2. 上訴理由陳述書一份。
  2. 他根據《稅務條例》第82A條被評定補加稅後,可在評稅通知書發出日期後起計一個月內提出上訴;該上訴通知必須附有以下資料:
    1. 評稅通知書副本一份;
    2. 上訴理由陳述書一份;
    3. 如曾接獲局長根據第82A(4)條發出的擬評定補加稅通知書,則提交該通知書的副本一份;及
    4. 上訴人根據第82A(4)條作出的任何書面申述的副本一份。

 

聆訊小組的組成

 

組成和職能

聆訊小組最少由三名成員組成,其中一人必須為主席或副主席(以下簡稱主訊人),負責就稅務上訴作出聆訊及裁決。委員會在聆訊審議的任何事宜,須由出席聆訊並就該事宜表決的成員以過半數票決定;如票數均等,則主訊人除其原有的一票外,亦有權投決定票。

 

聆訊通知書

書記須在接獲上訴通知書後,編定聆訊該項上訴的時間,並須給予上訴人及局長14天的上訴聆訊通知。在聆訊上訴前任何時間,上訴人可藉致予委員會書記的書面通知,將上訴撤回;或上訴人與局長可就上訴人的評稅款額達成和解。凡就上訴達成和解,上訴人和局長須簽署一份載有和解條款的和解書作為書面記錄,並須將該份和解書呈交委員會予以批註。

 

提供文件及資料

委員會聆訊小組可如期舉行聆訊對上訴雙方均為有利。主訊人可考慮及不同情況,如過往上訴人逾期呈交文件及資料對延誤委員會小組聆訊進度的影響等。主訊人有權-

(a) 就為聆訊提供文件及資料,發出指示;及

(b)(如任何文件及資料,並非遵照根據(a)段發出的指示而提供)拒絕接納該文件或資料為證據。

如主訊人決定行使權力,拒絕接納由某一方提供的文件或資料為證據,則主訊人須於作出該項決定後,在切實可行的範圍內,盡快藉向該方發出書面通知-

(a) 將該項決定通知該方;及

(b) 說明該項決定的理由。

該方可在上述通知發出予該方當日後的14日內,或在主訊人容許的較長限期內,就上述決定向主訊人申請寬免。上述寬免申請-

(a) 並不令上述決定暫緩執行;

(b) 須有證據支持,以證明該申請中的陳述;及

(c)  可不經聆訊而予以裁定。

主訊人會考慮整體情況及於裁定上述寬免申請後,在切實可行的範圍內,盡快以書面形式將該裁定通知該方及說明該裁定的理由。

實際上,主訊人發出的指示一般與上訴雙方須提交的文件及資料的期限及形式有關,並會給予合理時間讓上訴雙方遵從有關指示。

 

出席聆訊

上訴人須親自出席或由一名授權代表出席委員會聆訊上訴的會議。委員會如信納上訴人在編定的上訴聆訊日期將會在或正在香港境外,及相當可能不會在該日以後委員會認為合理的一段期間內在港,則可就該上訴人的書面申請(書記須在聆訊日期最少7天前接獲)而在其或其授權代表缺席的情況下聆訊該宗上訴。在這種情況下,委員會可考慮上訴人向委員會所呈交的書面陳詞。

請按這裡(PDF檔案)參閱有關天氣惡劣時之聆訊安排。

上訴聆訊均以不公開的形式進行。上訴人須承擔證明上訴所針對的評稅額乃屬過高或不正確的舉證責任。因此,在聆訊前他應確保已備妥所有擬在聆訊作供的證人以及用以支持其上訴的有關文件。除非另有指示,上訴人應按照主訊人所發出的指示,在編定的聆訊日期前將所有文件或資料送交委員會,並將副本送交局長。

進行聆訊時,上訴人須選擇作出未經宣誓的陳詞,或在宣誓下作供以支持其上訴並作出陳詞。如選擇前者,上訴人無須接受盤問;但若選擇後者,則須接受局長代表的盤問。如上訴人選擇不宣誓作供,委員會在處理上訴時,將考慮上訴雙方同意的事實(如適用)和在真確性上沒有爭議的文件,作爲可接納的書面證據。上訴人在考慮採納那一種方法作供時,應謹記證明有關評稅過多或不確的舉證責任須由其本人承擔。如上訴人僅提交書面證據,委員會對此不會過分重視;委員會較重視盤問過程中所驗證的證供。上訴人亦可以要求其他人士作爲其證人出席聆訊,以支持其上訴。一般而言,證人會在宣誓下作供,並須要接受盤問。

  

特權及豁免權

為了確保委員會可無畏無懼、不偏不倚及公正地履行其裁定稅務上訴案件的法定責任,《稅務條例》訂明-

(a) 聆訊小組主席、副主席或其他成員在根據《稅務條例》執行其職責時,均享有等同於高等法院原訟法庭法官在該法庭的民事法律程序中所享有的特權及豁免權;及

(b) 聆訊的任何一方、證人、大律師、律師或代表任何一方的人均享有該人在高等法院原訟法庭民事法律程序中會享有的特權及豁免權。

 

上訴委員會的裁決

上訴聆訊後,委員會須發出委員會的裁決,而裁決通常是以書面形式發出。委員會須確認、減少、增加或取消上訴所針對的評稅額,亦可將該個案連同委員會對該個案的意見發回局長處理。凡委員會不減少或不取消該評稅額,則可命令上訴人繳付一筆不超過25,000元的款項,作為委員會的訟費,該筆款項須加在徵收稅款內。該命令由委員會酌情決定。如上訴聆訊的進行屬瑣屑無聊、無理取鬧或 有關程序遭濫用,委員會在行使有關酌情決定權時,該命令會予以重大考慮。

 

就委員會的裁決提出上訴

上訴人或稅務局局長可針對委員會所作的決定而就法律問題直接向高等法院原訟法庭提出上訴許可申請。該上訴許可申請必須:

(a) 藉以陳述書支持的傳票提出。該陳述書須列明上訴理由,並簡明地指出及陳述每項理由所涉及的法律問題;

(b) 夾附委員會的有關決定的副本;

(c) 在可行的情況下盡量扼要,並避免重複委員會在其決定中已經列出的事項;

(d) 如陳述書是由大律師或律師擬備,陳述書必須由他們簽署,又或如申請人沒有聘任法律代表,陳述書須由其本人簽署;及

(e) 在委員會就有關上訴作出決定的日期後的一個月內,或委員會以書面通知上訴人或局長有關上訴的決定的通訊日期後的一個月內,向高等法院司法常務官遞交,並送達提出申請的另一方(即上訴人或局長,按情況而定)。

有關上訴許可申請的詳情,請參考由司法機構發出的實務指示34(http://legalref.judiciary.gov.hk/doc/npd/chi/PD34.htm),或致電高等法院書記主任辦事處(民事事宜)(電話:2825 4672)查詢。

委員會於2016年4月1日之前收到的呈述案件申請將會以原有的安排處理。凡有申請在2016年4月1日之前以書面提出並送交委員會,則會繼續處理,猶如《稅務條例》中與取消呈述案件機制的相關條文不曾制定一樣。

 

提交電子資訊

根據《電子交易條例》(第553章),電子資訊須以特定的規格、方式及程序(PDF檔案)傳送,方為有效。

 

﹙註:以上資料僅供市民參考。委員會的聆訊及上訴事宜均須依照《稅務條例》的有關條款規定辦理。﹚

香港政府一站通適應性網頁設計現已推出 稅務局
本網頁符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.0嚴格修訂要求 本網頁遵守萬維網聯盟(W3C)的無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) - 無障礙網頁2.0指引中的2A級要求